Incognito

From Catch Up With Summer, published in 2015.

Incognito

I am alone in this high-ceilinged room
this library reading room
the two-story-tall windows
dwarfing the crepe myrtles planted outside them.
It is summer and not a person
is in the room
except for me.
I can enjoy the book-smell without distraction
as the filtered light of a sun fighting off afternoon thunderstorms
makes its way over to me
to join me as I sit
so quietly
that I could be mistaken
for just another book

 

books in a window, Allentown, PA, 2016.

11 thoughts on “Incognito

  1. ummmm, book smell. Libraries do have that familiar scent….which will be much missed when all is digital (for convenience.) I like flipping pages, or turning them slowly – there’s just something about it!

  2. Thank you. I love the feeling of being inside a book and almost becoming part of it as I read. i have felt this way since I was a little girl. The setting for this poem is the library at Chestnut Hill College where I do the marathons right now, but I sit upstairs usually, not in this room. Where it seems that I am very small in the volume of space, but I feel at home inside it with the books. I think my most peaceful times come inside a library…

Leave a Reply

