Haiku 8-11

Haiku from long ago. I became interested in the form when I did some poetry writing sessions for my son’s 4th grade class.

8.
The office worker
Hurries out for lunch and sees
Only his desktop.
1/22/99

9.
Next house down the street
The postman clicks shut the box,
Shrugging off the rain.
1/22/99

10.
Up there, count five nests
Still clinging to bare branches,
Old family homes.
1/22/99

11.
Twigs drop from above.
The family has moved on
But the nest remains.
1/22/99

9 thoughts on “Haiku 8-11

  1. I love the nest pair. The final one makes me imagine what I might experience as an empty nester – accomplishment since I’ll have done by job raising kids from babyhood to independent adulthood but maybe something bittersweet about the end of an era.

  2. From my viewpoint I think your anticipated reaction is accurate. But I’ve been more interested in the view forward, once I got used to the new situation. Freeing.

  3. That’s a pleasant thought. I saw a bird in my driveway yesterday. It let me get very close before it scampered (didn’t fly) away. It looked like it was still young, and I hope it wasn’t injured.

  4. I’ve had similar experiences where the bird ran off rather than flying and they were always kind of small, which I interpreted as it being young and confused as to how to react, and not too used to flying? I always think – Bird, I’m friendly, but the next guy might not be! Beware! – because we have a lot of hawks around here and baby birds…rabbits… and so on are so vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

