Installment Plan Poetry Marathon, Week 24

You may be familiar with my Poetry Marathons – I’ve done them since January, 2015. I take a week, several times a year, and devote it to poetry – writing, editing, all poetry-related activities.

This year I have decided to do one segment of a Marathon each week. Two to three hours set aside for poetry, outside my regular life. It’s called the Installment Plan Poetry Marathon.

For more background information, look here. And if you want to read previous posts in this series, search this blog under the term Installment Plan Poetry Marathon 2017.


This week’s session was multi-part, held over several days starting on June 15 and ending on June 19.

Here is why – computer problems got in the way. Oh dear. The less said there, the better. You will understand what went on when I tell you the upshot was – I had to get a new computer. The old one died such a catastrophic death, and then there was getting the new one to get itself going. I’m shivering thinking about it.

So poetry was done in bits and pieces – of time, and in print/paper. Yes, snippets. Low tech.

I took the short walk down the stairs to my studio. I have a table there that I do “clean” projects on, such as snippets, drawing, etc.

The regular art tables are over to the side.

I have a bookcase full of snippet material – old books I have picked up here and there.

I had some words and phrases cut out from earlier sessions and I tore some pages from various books to have some new material, too. I set up my work area – I arrange the pieces on the cardboard pieces, shifting them around here and there until things coalesce.

Doing snippets takes time. I get a few things that look good to me but I don’t glue them down right away – time is your friend. You need to let the ideas settle. Or – maybe a new phrase or word will come along and make you happier. Then you are glad you did not glue right away. Patience!

I came back and forth to the table over the next few days. Except for Saturday, when I was at an art show, I worked a little every day. I ended up with a good crop of snippets and I decided to leave the table in working mode rather than cleaning it up. I may want to stop back in – I don’t think this snippet session is done yet.

So, that’s all I have to show for this week. I didn’t get a chance to go over last week’s poems, trapped as they were inside the computer (they are ok, having survived the transfer to the new one, thanks to the cloud backup). So I’ll do that the next session.

Here are a few snippets to whet your snippet appetite…first, a couple of ones about nighttime.

I could say “current events” about this one, but I think it describes an ongoing human behavior, from ancient times to today.

And how about that summer coming along so nicely!

Until next time…

17 thoughts on “Installment Plan Poetry Marathon, Week 24

  1. Thank you. Poetry and studio! I do like that room. Over the years it has gotten a personality. When we moved here it had brown suede wallpaper, dirty white carpet, and a major issue with the floor (crack in the slab). Well, we wiped all that out as quick as possible! Ugh. But since then, it is perfect. I have even given classes in here.

  2. These are all fantastic but I especially love the idea of noise and light painting the planet.

    Our home computer died a complete and utter death a few weeks ago too and had to be rapidly replaced. Meanwhile, my ancient U.K. laptop is still functioning though ever so slowly.

  3. Thank you. I like seeing what snippet gets to go on what card (I kind of just choose from the pile of cards when it is time to glue and I let the fates decide!). and this post reminds me that I need to make more cards. I ran out during the marathon and had to use some other things that were at hand.!

  4. My mind was thinking the art was done for the snippets but that shows they are well matched. It makes sense that they are separate creations due to logistics of paint drying etc.

  5. I also like the serendipity aspect of letting the two parts sort of come together by chance. I am amazed at how they seem to compliment each other and I do nothing to make it happen. I find the same thing when I do ATC’s with art on them and then give them a cryptic word (I usually post these on my “Sometimes You Get So Confused” blog). Same thing – I let the word and card find each other. I have two opinions about this process – one is, I’m reaching deep within to make the choices, or – the inspiration is flying into my head from some outside source. Either way, I Like the mystery of it, somehow.

  6. I did just do a post on orienteering…that blog is more about my everyday life and I don’t publish as often. Who wants to know? But I find it has helped me order experiences in my mind and also document things that I think are important, even if they are ordinary.

  7. Yes, I got such a great picture from that one sentence in my mind. Somehow I thought of how it is at the Jersey shore at night, Ocean City, maybe, on the boardwalk, all the neon and lights and activity and popcorn smell mixed along with lingering suntan lotion.

Leave a Reply

