Fragile Tough and Stay Back

From the poetry collection published in 2015, Spring Cleaning.

Fragile Tough and Stay Back

I sit here
small
and I escape notice I hope
Of who or what I don’t exactly know but
I am sure it’s sitting near me
possibly just outside the area covered
by the tabletop here or
at my shoulder about to put a hand out
and tap me
and not to say hello, either.
I hold out my hands palms up
and
curl them into fists
A ludicrous thing to do because
my clenched hands are tiny
pale
each metacarpal
no more than a twig outlined
under the stretched skin.
Not much to fight with and yet
they’re what I’ve got

mixed media, @ 4″, 2010.

10 thoughts on “Fragile Tough and Stay Back

  1. I like the juxtaposition of the collage and words. There is fear in putting music out from your hands into the world, but it’s also a way to claim a place for yourself and become part of it. The poem reminds me of a bird, needing to learn to fly on its own. (K)

  2. This poem speaks to me – as so many of yours do. I am introverted and shy, hate being the focus of attention, but I am assertive and scrappy when I need to be.

  3. Thank you. I dislike attention for me as I’d rather my work receive it. I don’t like to stand by when I think something is wrong or need fixing or changing. And life has put me in positions I’ve had to defend myself, more in the past now thank goodness. I think I was born the person this poem describes. Came from my heart, these words.

Leave a Reply

