Dress Up

From the collection published 2015, Spring Cleaning.

Dress Up

How did this bush get the idea to
bloom fuzzy white flowers all over itself
becoming a bush
wearing a very fancy designer party dress?
Say you tried to carry out this style yourself
if you even could
it would take days
if you even could
and where would you find the materials?
Yet this bush came up with the look
overnight, I think,
and tell me what you think
because what I see is
Overnight success, right here in front of me.

“Celebrity Sighting”. Mixed media, 2008.

4 thoughts on “Dress Up

  1. Thank you. You know, when I was young I wanted to sit with the flower or whatever as long as it took to bloom and see if I could tell when it happened, exactly, and I’ve never gotten past my fascination with waking up to blooms or leaves when yesterday they were not there. Still seems miraculous to me.

  2. I had a similar thought recently while observing my azalea bushes. They are in vibrant, electrifyingly bright bloom for such a brief period that it is as if they have donned fancy clothing for a special occasion.

Leave a Reply

