Tanka 43, 44, 52: Penmanship

You may remember I have been working to improve my penmanship and I’ve acquired some nice fountain pens.

43.
The fountain pen wrote
neat letters on white paper
finishing up dry
after a marathon slog
through floods of melodrama
3/18/17

44.
A neat line of print
in blue-black fountain pen ink
stepped across the page
slowed down, staggered, veered off, quit
fell face down in an ink blot.
3/18/17

52.
The pen wets its toes
in the bottle of blue ink
steps out on the page
inscribes a line of footprints.
The paper begins to fill.
4/15/17

5 thoughts on “Tanka 43, 44, 52: Penmanship

  1. Thank you. I tend to think of everything as being somewhat alive and having a personality, I think, ever since I was a little child. I think it affects my writing. I’m glad you liked this about the pens – I really do think a pen is cooperating with you or not, as you write or draw!

Leave a Reply

