Creation Story

From Spring Cleaning, published in 2015.

Creation Story

What new beginning is possible
in the book you have chosen
once you have opened it to the first chapter
and started to read?
What new beginning is needed
once you have left home
and driven away
taking the entrance to the highway?
What new beginning is required
once you decide
you no longer hear the voice
calling you back?
If there is no returning
that’s the kind of beginning
you mean,
isn’t it?

Artist trading card, 2013.

7 thoughts on “Creation Story

  1. Thank you, that means a lot to me, because I know you have taken a new beginning more than once, and I think that takes a lot of courage. I have started over myself quite a few times. In fact, though I wrote this poem 2 years ago, I feel it fits me today.

  2. Starting over doesn’t need to be a massive life change. It can also be a change in perspective or an adaptation of lifestyle or the pursuit of a new interest.

  3. Yes, all that is required is a realization of the new direction, really, big or small. I do think it has to be a conscious decision. Not just dealing with what happened, or whatever, but deciding to deal with it. I like that part, taking control of things, to get to something better.

Leave a Reply

