Confident and Rolling Along With It

From Spring Cleaning, published in 2015.

Confident and Rolling Along With It

Well, she drove right up to the parking space
in her
nondescript
aged and featureless
car
possessing vintage aspects
such as its color
a splotchy faded maroon
and its sagging headliner
just visible behind the driver’s head
The driver being a young lady.
Maybe this jalopy was her mother’s car
some time back.
This young lady pulled the car around hard left
straightened out
reversed
and in the parking spot
Just like that.
The young lady grabbing her pocketbook and heading for the door
of the grocery.
People inside that store:
Get ready.

“Girl with a Yellow Face”, 2014, acrylics, 10″ x 8″.

9 thoughts on “Confident and Rolling Along With It

  1. You really pulled me in with this poem…I want to know what happens next. And I enjoy the painting very much as well 🙂

  2. Thank you for both, words and art. I got the idea for this poem at the grocery store. I was interested in how people moved from the lot to the store in such different ways. Though the car is one someone I used to work with drove something like it. Seemed to fit. Anyway, I like this poem too, I think I caught what I saw in words. Thank you.

  3. I agree with Janice about the poem having the feeling of the opening section of a short story. It’s strong in narrative, character, and visual images and it ends on a cliffhanger.

  4. Well, if only I had any idea what to do next. I am not a plotting kind of thinker. And too impatient to develop a story. Although like so many things in life, that capacity may suddenly appear one day out of the blue. Thank you for this, I am happy to think I have accomplished this!

  5. I actually quite like things that end on an uncertain note, a fulcrum, or a cliffhanger. I like that it is up to me to contemplate what might happen next. It is like an interactive narrative in that way. It is one of the things that divides my husband and I over movies: I rather enjoy movies that don’t have a neat denouement and which leave things unresolved and messy whereas he needs the resolution and the answers.

  6. I’m with you. I love the unresolved and how it frees me to imagine many futures or resolutions. I like thinking of what happens after the end of almost any book or movie. Sometimes more than one.

Leave a Reply

