Alone Without My Thoughts

From the poetry collection published in 2015, Spring Cleaning.

Alone Without My Thoughts

When you wake up in the middle of the night
and the street is silent
Not one car passing by
Not a sound from a bird
Not the cry of a fox
or an ambulance
or the neighbors calling out
It’s lonely to think about it
even now
and worse when you wake up at night
and hear the train whistle way far off down the hill.
You get the idea that maybe it’s
important
to do some thinking
and you
You listen for an answer
You
awake by chance in the middle of the night

“Just a Sliver of a Street”, acrylics, 2013.

4 thoughts on “Alone Without My Thoughts

  1. I have terrible sleep patterns and wake frequently during the night. I love it when I wake and all is still and quiet and dark as it means there is a greater chance I will be able to get off back to sleep again. If I wake and there is any stimulus at all, such as light or sounds, then it tends to wake me too much and I am then awake for a length of time.

Leave a Reply

