Installment Plan Poetry Marathon, Week 12

You may be familiar with my Poetry Marathons – I’ve done them since winter, 2015. I take a week, several times a year, and devote it to poetry – writing, editing, all poetry-related activities.

This year, in addition to scheduling the regular long versions, I have decided to do one segment of a Marathon each week. Two to three hours set aside for poetry, outside my regular life. It’s called the Installment Plan Poetry Marathon.

For more background information, look here. And if you want to read previous posts in this series, search this blog under the term Installment Plan Poetry Marathon 2017.

On March 23, I arrived at Logue Library at Chestnut Hill College around 8:30 AM. As I signed in I got into a conversation with the Dean of the library and the student desk assistant, both of whom recognized me. I had a chance to express thanks again for being allowed to use the library, and to hear about the assistant’s upcoming job interviews. It made me feel good to be known and welcomed in this way.

I zipped up the stairs to my 3rd floor library home. We can’t do without an updated photo of my desk.

Enlarging on the desk theme, I decided to start my day a little differently – I got out my sketch book and did a quick picture of my desk.

Pen and ink, 8″ x 8″, 3rd floor, Logue Library, 3-23-17.

Drawing requires a focus on details, even if they don’t all end up in the picture. For instance, I had never noticed that the legs of the chairs are set at 45 degree angles with the supporting frame of the chair making an X under the seat, rather than the more often-seen situation with the legs squared up to the seat and the frame a rectangle. See what I mean?

I also took note of the rounded corners on the desk. I like the look.

And here are a couple of photos featuring the furniture I use and its companions, including the heater that runs all around the walls under the windows and keeps me toasty and comfortable.

I will be doing more research on this furniture – a little information has given me an appetite to find out more. Now I think you see what I mean about noticing details when you draw…

On to writing. I spent time doing some poem-writing in the fast-intuitive-speed-style. That took me up to lunch. I then worked on last week’s poems. You may remember I said many of them focused on the snow. We’d had a big storm earlier in that week. Reviewing them this week, I do think, as I said in the previous post, that I was exorcising some snow-fear. This week, the experiences seem far away, a bit surreal. Can memory be so short or did my poetry-writing snow-binge work?

We will see, and hopefully not any time soon. Spring is here now.

As for today’s work, I select a poem from recent library experience:

3.
What went wrong with the lights
should I worry
and why did you send the repairman
all the way up here
to check them without the right tools
and do you think the lights
I am thinking
as the repairman heads back down the floor
rubber soled shoes squeaking on the linoleum
diminuendo volume and up tempo as
his radio yelling out in screeching female
calling him somewhere else and on the double
before he did one single thing to the lights and
Anyway
the lights are back on now.

A tanka, also from recent experience, this time at home:

Lemon pie. Just made.
Needs to set up. It requests
your patience. You run
a finger across its top.
Just a taste. Now you can wait.

and another of Jane Dougherty-inspired 10-10-10-10-10/5 lines
poems, divided up my-style, and a tribute to not being able to see anything close up or that’s very small without glasses:

The print.
Requiring a magnifier.
Tough to read. A traffic pacifier
for the reader’s speed.
An amplifier of bad prose.
Able intensifier
of headaches.
Font
as
mood modifier.

OK, that’s it for today. Thanks for reading. Next week will be here before you know it!

6 thoughts on “Installment Plan Poetry Marathon, Week 12

  1. Great variety of subjects and forms. I think the lemon pie poem is particularly delightful, so evocative. That furniture is great. It looks so well made in comparison to contemporary utilitarian type furniture and clearly built to last.

    • That pie poem is straight from life. Mine and I think many others! The furniture has intrigued me for a while. The library was outfitted at one time when it was new, and maintained ever since. They have a style there that has come back into fashion. And you are right, those chairs show little wear and will never break down, I think.

  2. Love those chairs and the concept of sturdiness and possibility of long use. I just purchased a pair of leather lace up shoes, the type I disliked wearing as a school student (we have school uniform codes in Australia), why because I liked the sturdy feel and the sense of not needing to deal with disposing of them for years to come! 😄

    • Yes, I felt the same way. About the chairs (plus they are similar to what the typical library chair was when I was growing up, a nice familiar feeling) – and I was raised with the idea that things should last, and not just get used a few times and then thrown out, so the idea of how long these chairs have been working really appealed to me.

Leave a Reply

