Dream Home

From the poetry collection published in 2015, Look Winter in the Face.

Dream Home

A neat little apartment I think
that would be just the thing
In a building with my mailbox on its perch
in the grid of all the other mailboxes in the lobby
settled in like friends with each one belonging.
A black-and-white tile floor. Three elevators, carpeted
in neutral hard-wearing gray-tan, one spot
in the corner of the middle car, cleaned
but the floor still showing traces. A quiet hall
door after door.
To come inside the apartment
you close the door and
a solid thunk. You are home. You belong to you.
To go inside the apartment
you close the door
a hollow slam
in the hall. Your neighbors will know you are home.
You belong to them.
You are home
in this place with just enough room not more not less nothing wanted
and you know it. You
push off each shoe in turn with your toes
and sit on your feet
on your sofa.
You say
Just the thing, Just the thing, Just the thing.

Lady looking out an apartment window, acrylics, 2016.

Lady looking out an apartment window, acrylics, 2016.

8 thoughts on “Dream Home

  1. You’ve conveyed that snug feeling of what it feels like to enter your own private space and relax in it. I’m not sure, however, that I could go back to apartment living. I think I enjoy my privacy too much to be sharing walls, ceiling, and floor with other people’s spaces again.

  2. I am not sure myself, but I think at this stage of my life I would like it again (I enjoyed it when I was single and young). There is something about having people around, a comfort, but also knowing that you can decide whether or not to be involved, most of the time. And I plan to make very sure I get into a well-built quiet building if I do go this route ever again!

  3. Thank you. I like to be alone most of the time, and yet it is nice to know you are not exiled from the world. That you can choose to go in and out of it. And, the bliss of having a retreat and refuge just for yourself…

  4. There is a sense of safety and community in an apartment building (that is, a stable one where you know the neighbors). As a young mother, I definitely took advantage of the experienced mother across the hall…(and eggs to borrow if you run out) (K)

  5. I liked apartment living when I was younger, and I think I’d enjoy it again now at this stage of life, or not too long from now. Just as you say, I like the feeling of being together and yet having your own space.

  6. One of the circles I cut out for my post today had the word, belong. And this is what resonates with me in your poem. I enjoyed it very much and your artwork that accompanies it. ๐Ÿ˜Š I lived in a small apartment before I got married. I didn’t really know my neighbors but it felt so wonderful to have a place to call my own. Even though it was terribly insulated and gave me a huge heat bill so I had to move out! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Thank you. I think we all need a space of our own. Of some kind . And a place to belong to. These have been themes of my life, I realize more and more as I get older and look back.

Leave a Reply

