Do Well and Get On

From Look Winter in the Face, 2015.

Do Well and Get On

Uncomfortable chair.
I make a mental note to
remove this chair from the table and then
what next for it I don’t know
get somebody to put it in the basement I guess
but I won’t sit here on this miserable excuse for a chair
again
if only I can remember the next time I come in here
because we all know
it will never get to the basement
Chairs like these
live forever and prosper.

artist trading card, 12-2016.

artist trading card, 12-2016.

15 thoughts on “Do Well and Get On

  1. I had to turn 40 to learn this simple equation:
    sitting/eating well = feeling well = to be kind to oneself = to be kind/patient toward others
    My advice: Get rid of that uncomfortable chair! 🙂

  2. I think there is a large community of these chairs and they thrive in all kinds of climates and locations! My parents had one that lasted for decades. My husband had one when we got married and we even went so far as to reupholster it. They work their mysterious magic on us, they do.

  3. Finally, it went. The cat liked it, and that saved it for a while, but you are right. Life is too short for giving yourself a reason to be uncomfortable and to make others so. I do wonder who designs these chairs, I do.

  4. There is a fine line between so aggravating that action has to be taken, and being just annoying enough to register but too much trouble to be gotten rid of. Chairs, people, you name it. And the cycle continues…!!!

  5. It is so important to be comfortable. Uncomfortable furniture, however good it might look, however much we spent on it, however much the cat might like it, should have no floor space in our homes. It is a lesson I learned after one of my house moves when I decided I deserved dining room chairs that didn’t cause me discomfort and didn’t give them space in the removal van.

  6. It’s hard to take this leap in thinking, though, isn’t it, just like it is hard to get rid of clothes that are perfectly fine but just aren’t what you like, fit, color, whatever.

  7. Maybe if the chair’s family decides to move. But even then, these things get taken along and taken along…they hang in there forever. Like clothes, dishes, so many other possessions. Someone needs to set this chair afire, maybe. And then probably there would be debate about how it could be fixed…

  8. Yes. It’s definitely a learning curve. But once you’ve let something go once or twice following that sort of internal debate, the process becomes easier in future.

Leave a Reply

