Haiku Group Joints and Angles

I wrote this group of haiku about three weeks ago, prompted by the writings of Wonky Wizard, in particular his sonnet Marriages and Divorces. We wrote back and forth about the topic in the comments section, ending on the image of flexibility. I went on to write this haiku group on the topics – marriage, flexibility, and joints that allow movement.

When I say “haiku group”, I mean I wrote these haiku in the order shown, one after another, and I think they work together as a group as well as each on its own to say what I meant. I hope so, anyway.

Haiku Group Joints and Angles

1.
Creaking and flexing
the structure sways in the wind
returns to center.

2.
The door flies open
hinges bent back by the wind
A new gust shuts it.

3.
The stiff joint catches
protesting against movement
crying out for oil.

4.
An easy quick gait
owes thanks to flexible joints
fit for rough terrain

5.
Eager hearts set out
covering the rough terrain
at a steady pace

6.
Bowing to the wind
unfolding to new angles
Healing the mistakes.

Window, Penny's Florist, Glenside, PA, 2015.

Window, Penny’s Florist, Glenside, PA, 2015.

6 thoughts on “Haiku Group Joints and Angles

  1. Thank you. When I do these haiku groups it usually starts with just one, then I get another related idea, and next thing you know there is this whole chain. One inspiring the next.

  2. Wonderful conceit! I really like how the poem develops with each haiku/stanza. Not for the first time I have cause to be reminded of Donne’s ‘Valediction Forbidding Mourning’ when reading your poetry. Perhaps you and the blogger who inspired the poem should collaborate on a renga?

  3. Wow, you’ve made me feel so good with this comment. What great company you’ve put me in. Thank you. And I like the collaboration idea. We have answered haiku with haiku but not tried something combined.

  4. Yes, I do too. It reminds me of artist trading cards, in that the form is meant to be shared. That can be hard (we are possessive of our own works) but in the end, liberating, I think.

Leave a Reply

