Bitten

From Look Winter in the Face, collection published in winter, 2015.

Bitten

You are thinking too much about that
people say to me
Like they know. Shake their heads at me
point a finger and say
You are thinking too much about that
Sometimes they smile
like a snake wiggling across a hot rock
in a hurry to hide.
I have heard
You are thinking too much about that
One time too many
The next time
will be one time too many plus one
something will change for
a certain person as yet unknown who tells me
Thinking too much and so on.
I am enjoying thinking about that.

"I Have a Lot to Think About", acrylics, 2014.

“I Have a Lot to Think About”, acrylics, 2014.

5 thoughts on “Bitten

  1. Thinking? And thinking deeply? Well, how very dare you! We wouldn’t want you to go developing ideas or fostering an imagination or anything! I remember distinctly being about 6 or 7 and being told I was “too imaginative”. It was an early lesson in not redirecting or heeding the opinions of those technically more experienced and knowledgeable.

  2. Thank you. I am not too afraid of snakes, but I certainly don’t trust them, the way they never go anywhere in a straight line and you don’t know where they are headed…and I don’t like people telling me I think too much, which has been happening my whole life! I guess you can tell this, from the poem…!!!

Leave a Reply

