Snippet and Demographics

From September 2016.

snippet-5-9-16-small

16 thoughts on “Snippet and Demographics

  1. I have done a lot of volunteering and I have come to the conclusion that I can help people, but not all people want help, or know what to do with it. It sounds harsh, but I have learned to choose my efforts more selectively, where I really think it will have an effect.

  2. I don’t belong to a voluntary organization, don’t have the physical energy for one thing, but I do talk to all the drifters and drunks and you’re right, there are some who find help in just being spoken to like a human being, others who are quite happy the way they are (usually the ones with some kind of income), some who are so far gone they should be in a hospital, and others who need professional help to find a way into work. Even they don’t always want help. I just try to be civilized and the gesture is appreciated.

  3. This poem spoke to me on a personal level. I grew up in poverty so I’ve always been quite sensitive to the “just pull your socks up” approach to helping people move out of poverty. I definitely had some innate abilities that helped me but there are also definitely times when charity or government assistance was critical, such as grants that enabled me to continue into tertiary education. Poverty is complex and there are probably as many causes and solutions as there are people. Broad brush doesn’t work. Efforts have to be invested smartly.

  4. You know, I think every person responds differently (like in every other life situation, duh) to needing help, and the helpers do, too. It is easy to become jaded and cynical about “the poor”, just as it is easy to sentimentalize them. I have found, after floundering around some, ways to help that seem to do some good and also are within my abilities. The idea of – just get a hold of yourself and try harder – is not effective in much of any situation in life, is it?

  5. After years of teaching, I came to a hard truth, free will is limited. We make choices, but all those choices a filtered through our experience and our particular neurological basis for processing that experience. A poet can choose to compose or not compose a poem, they can not choose to not think like a poet. A mathematician is someone who thinks and processes in a certain manner ( pathways within the brain), the quality of their knowledge, understanding, and applying that thinking derives from the formal and informal educational/learning experiences. Some of us are fortunate enough that we can take advantage of how re-wire/update the hardware/software of our inner self, our society does not want to acknowledge that many can not accomplish this feat.

    Even “Orange-You-not-Glad-I’m-Elected” can not not control how he processes information. Actually, he demonstrates many characteristics of ADHD , just as his youngest son demonstrates characteristics of Autism. Latest thinking is that ADHD and Autism are actually part of the same spectrum of information processing issues.

  6. Yes, I have learned over the years that you have to take people where they are, and not try to deny their innate characteristics, in trying to deal with them. Only with understanding can any changes come and only then if the persons themselves want them – and that within limits. Knowing and respecting limits is key.

Leave a Reply

