Hurt Leg

Hi Everyone ( and apologies to those who have already read this information on my art blog),
I am sure you wonder what I mean by this post’s title. I’ll start off by saying – No, I don’t have a hurt leg.

And then I’ll continue by saying – But…

On Christmas morning my husband fell down the stairs and severely injured his left leg – a complete tear of the quadriceps tendon. He also had a sprained right ankle.

So, we went to the emergency room and learned that the ankle will heal in a couple of weeks. The left leg, though, is in bad shape and will need surgery (scheduled for January 6). After that, there is a recovery and rehabilitation time of about 4-6 months to walking again – then more months of bringing the leg back to normal strength and agility. Really, it will be next Christmas before things are fully healed.

I will be busy managing the situation here for some time. My husband will need assistance with most of the things of everyday life for the next few months.

I wanted to take the time to mention this little speedbump in the road of life – I usually work so that I have posts set up in advance, and I feel sure I’ll be able to keep on participating here in our blog world. I may not be able to get back to you right away on comments, though, but please keep in touch, as I will eventually do so. I also plan to try to stay up with your blogs – being part of this community has become a big part of my life and I depend on my participation in it.

It looks like 2017 is not going to go the way I thought it would, right off the bat! But I am grateful for good medical care and my husband’s determined attitude, as well as my family and friends’ support. Thanks to them, and to all of you, for traveling the road of my creative endeavors with me.

"Shake a leg" - Artist Trading Card

Maybe in 2018…
46 thoughts on “Hurt Leg

  1. It looks funny that I “Liked” this. There should be an I’ve read your post button. In any case, so sorry to hear about your husband’s injury. Yikes! I’m glad he got medical care, but sorry his rehab and recovery will take so long. That’s certainly not a good way to end the year. I hope 2017 goes better for you both. Wishing you both all the best.

  2. Thank you. You know, he took care of me during my illnesses and I am happy to return the favor although of course I wish it had not happened at all! We will get through this and I am sure there will be a lot of creative fodder in it…!!!

  3. Thank you. I think I’ll be able to keep up with things in the blog world pretty well but I didn’t want people to feel I wasn’t paying attention – I might just be slower now. But I do think art and poetry will fit into things well – we will be less mobile and so I think the internet will be a real help during this time. Thank you so much for thinking of me.

  4. Sorry to hear of your hubby’s accident, Claudia. I understand how these things turn our lives upside down… I sprained my foot at the beginning of Sept from a fall and it still gives me problems. So good he can get the surgery done right away! Will pray that all goes well with that and he will recover quickly – or as quickly as possible. Take good care of you during this time… sending hugs. 💖

  5. A difficult way to start the year. My best wishes for a complete recovery. Hopefully there are friends and relatives to visit often too…important to bring the outside in when you can’t get out yourself. I visited two friends with leg injuries weekly last year (one who also had to learn to walk again) and I know they looked forward to a break in the shut-in routine. Will be sending good thoughts. (K)

  6. Oh Claudia and Bob! We’re so sorry! The injury must be very painful! And Christmas morning!

    Bob–where is your operation taking place? We are thinking of you both and wishing you well. I wish we could offer to come right over and help. But that would be foolish. Steve is getting over norovirus (from our day care grandson), then he got bronchitis! On antibiotics now, so hoping they work. So we really can’t come over! 🙁

    Anyway, I’ll call in a few and see how you’re doing.

    Here’s to good thoughts and a recovered 1917. 💕💐🍾🍷⛄️ Love, Marie and Steve

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. All the best for your husband’s recovery and 2017. The blog will happen whenever, real life is the priority, don’t forget to look after yourself as well. Best wishes.

  8. I expect there’ll be quite a bit of humour coming up during the course of your hubby’s recovery. Look forward to taking part in his healing journey. Hope for your sake he’ll be an easy patient.

  9. It makes our little woes look pretty pitiful! All I can say is, your husband is lucky he has someone who really cares to look after him, and it’s these kind of situations that make couples even closer. Try not to get too tired, and keep the posts coming as much are you’re able. Roll on springtime!

  10. Thank you. I think things will end up well, but it will take time and work. The blogs really are going to be more important to me than ever, I think, and I appreciate so much your support.

  11. Thank you. I agree about the importance of outside contact. Once a few weeks have passed, he can go to work on a limited basis (once we figure out how that’s going to work) and that will really help, I think. I will have a lot of new routines this year. Fodder for the art and poetry!

  12. I just appreciate your sympathy, I am feeling it from here right now! Thank you, and don’t worry – you guys sound like you need to recover yourselves! Hoping Steve feels better soon. The surgery is taking place at the orthopaedics group’s surgicenter located at Nazareth Hosp. in the Northeast.

  13. Thank you so much. I really hope to stay up with the blog as much as I can because I think it will be a welcome distraction and a taste of normal life. I think once we get into a routine after the surgery it will all settle out. I am glad now that I took time earlier to get a group of posts ahead of time!

  14. Thank you so much. I love that image, let the light shine – creative and caring. We are setting off on a journey here, in a way, and new things will come to the front for us.

  15. Thank you so much. I feel lucky to have help and support, not the least from my blog friends. And I hope that we will go along pretty well, if we take it one step at a time (no pun intended for my poor husband!).

  16. I hope we can see humor in it too – and so far there have been moments of it (such as the elves giving out gifts in the hospital emergency room on Christmas!).

  17. Thank you. I think we will get through this and I agree, end up closer. My illnesses have taught me how it feels to be the patient and now I will try to be the caregiver he was to me. I am congratulating myself for setting up a lot of future posts so I can participate still here on the blogs. And by the time they run out things should be more normal. Thanks so much for your kinds words, now and always.

  18. That’s good. My one friend couldn’t even stand for months, so except for ambulette trips to the doctor/therapist she was stuck inside. The first time we could actually go out and have some coffee/tea instead of me stopping at Starbucks and bringing it in was heaven.

  19. You were a really good friend and sounds like a real lifeline. I am so happy that we will be able to go places (even though restricted due to the walking issues) – even driving in the car and never getting out is better than being stuck at home…

  20. It really made me see how being housebound can wear a person down. Luckily this was a friend with many friends, and I think she had visitors almost every day. I’m sure you and your husband will manage to keep the walls from closing in!

  21. Thank you. I admit when I first looked at his knee I felt–squeamish. He says it’s not painful right now. Hoping it’s not too bad after surgery. Both in looks ( for me) and pain (for him). Thanks for your good wishes. Means a lot.

  22. I’m very sorry to learn of your husband’s injuries. Life does dole out unexpected challenges. It sounds like you are already adjusting and foreseeing some of what lies ahead. I’ve found that absorbing new realities is often half the battle. Take care.

  23. Thank you for your good wishes. And you are so right, just admitting things are the way they are relieves your mind to be able to handle what you need to be doing in the new reality. I will say, I am good at dealing with this kind of event – I am organized and since I find relief in doing, well, things get done.!!! Sometimes life forcibly pushes in the direction you need to be going.

  24. Thank you. We hope all our legs are sturdy and strong by year end. Go 2017. By the way, I got your postcard. Haven’t had time to thank you but it’s right in front of me on my desk. Thank you! I love the sinuous lines of the streets flowing between the buildings. Like an organism, the city is.

  25. Yes, I saw it as a nexus, too. Of course I guess all town squares are, but this one really felt that way, with the contrast with the tightly-packed buildings and the curving lines. Really is drawing you toward its center.

Leave a Reply

