Expand Our Circle

From Autumn Opens a Door, poetry collection published in fall, 2015.

Expand Our Circle

Rather the intruder
from some other place
than that person we knew.
Better a stranger lurking in the dark
hallways and under the overhanging
trees with their dead limbs. We wanted
someone unknown to us and not
a mind a heart the feelings of a long-time friend
now turned sour and against us.
In shopping for a ghost to populate
our certainly old but unremarkable house
we all agreed
New blood was needed.
No one wants to meet
the same old people
again and again.

"Swallowed Up" - photo. This house has since been torn down.

“Swallowed Up” – photo. This house has since been torn down.

14 thoughts on “Expand Our Circle

  1. I believe that 200%. I love houses and am a lifelong addict of touring open houses, houses under constructions, historic houses, your house…in another life, I would have liked to build houses. And then the lives that go on inside them, well, it goes without saying I’m interested…

  2. Maybe I could get mine to look like that! It’s got a bit of way to go though. I used to have a ghost, called her/him Casper, after the cartoon character ‘… the friendly ghost … ‘ And then I went and grew up and … and …

  3. Homes definitely have personalities and I have sometimes wondered whether the personality of the home shapes the personalities of its inhabitants or whether homes take on the personalities of their occupants. I think more so the latter which means that old houses have rich and complex personalities built on the shades of so many people.

  4. As a family historian, I sometimes find I segue into local history. As such, I’ve read about people researching the history of their houses. I think that must be pretty fascinating if you should live in a property that is more than a hundred years old, learning all about the property and it’s former occupants.

  5. We did it for our previous house built in 1885. And we met the owners who lived in it from 1950s to 1980s by coincidence. Interesting because in their era they had divided the house and rented out half, signs of which we could still see when we moved in.

  6. That’s really interesting. Our current home has only had two owners and we met the previous owner during the buying process. I’ve lived in some really old tenement buildings in Edinburgh and wish I’d researched their history at the time.

  7. The previous owners here stopped by about a year ago and wanted to see the house (vastly improved since their time- they sold us a wreck). My husband gave them a tour. I would’ve said no. Ugh experience.

  8. I think I would be inclined to say no too. In fact, when we have to hand over mail and such like to the previous owners, my husband always goes to their new apartment rather than inviting them here. Partly it’s about ownership of my space but it’s also partly about their feelings of how much I’m changing the house they’d preserved in aspic since 1970.

  9. There are a few houses like that around the bend from where I live. The old sawmill at the back of me closed down and the staff that occupied the houses were laid off. There are many. One can feel the sadness. The land belongs to a parastatal that cultivates pine plantations for commercial use. They won’t let anyone try and refurbish the places, trying to keep tourists out. Don’t blame them. Suits me too!

  10. Yes, this one was on a bit of land near the highway, and I don’t know who owned it, but it had been abandoned a long time. Finally, with one of the road projects, it was taken down. I felt some relief, it looked unhappy being so derelict.

Leave a Reply

