Do the Job With Forethought and Care

From Autumn Opens a Door, poetry collection published in 2015.

Do the Job With Forethought and Care

Find the center and draw your circle.
A compass is the tool you need.
Find one with a good sharp point
to anchor you
firmly in the center
so that your circle is not the victim
of your faltering.
Maybe it’s not so easy to find
compass or center but
not impossible. Make it your business.
Then. Take your measurements
carefully. Resist the temptation to
hurry.

Small landscape, yellow field and pale circle rock, 9/2015, 4" x 6", acrylics on canvas.

Small landscape, yellow field and pale circle rock, 9/2015, 4″ x 6″, acrylics on canvas.

11 thoughts on “Do the Job With Forethought and Care

    • Thank you. And the imperfection of that particular image is what appealed. There are lots of ways to look at it in conjunction with the poem. I have memories of using a compass and still my circle was off. I may be one of those people… but as long as my circle included enough, well, it is ok…

    • Thank you. I also find it easy to get caught up and as a consequence get agitated. If I can move with deliberation I manage a lot better! This poem is, among other things, kind of an illustration of how I try to get myself to focus, if I am lost.

Leave a Reply

