Certainly I’m Just As Concerned As Anyone Else

From Autumn Opens a Door, a poetry collection published in fall, 2015.

Certainly I’m Just As Concerned As Anyone Else

Everyone else is doing all right so
I’ll just assume she is too until she’s not
and then I’ll say,
My goodness, I had no idea,
even though I did. Well, what can you do?
You can’t fix things for other people,
as much as you’d like to,
even if you’d rather not, but you
say you’d like to
so as to be nice about things.
Anyway, seems she ought to be doing better,
everyone else is doing all right.
Maybe she just ought to try a little harder.

"I'm Not Worried About It Now" - collage

“I’m Not Worried About It Now” – collage

9 thoughts on “Certainly I’m Just As Concerned As Anyone Else

  1. Funny you say that, I have remarked to my family recently that I feel like her, pointing out things and no one listening, then..I’m right. And they admit I am right, but – still…

  2. There’s a real authenticity to this interior monologue. It’s the type of conversation I have with myself from
    time to time in relation to some individuals, trying to strike that balance between compassion and being supportive but not getting too embroiled or invested at times.

Leave a Reply

