Brainwashing and Done So Nicely

From the collection published in fall 2015, Autumn Opens a Door.

Brainwashing and Done So Nicely

I.
You will feel a lot better
in a clean car
and because of it
possibly get a better job.

II.
You will experience one hundred percent
customer satisfaction guaranteed
and because of it
maybe aspire to
a more satisfying spiritual life.

III.
You will be brought a better cup of coffee
because others were willing to go the extra mile
for you
and because of it
it may happen that your heater will not require repairs
after all.

phtograph, store window and reflection, Washington, DC, 2015.

phtograph, store window and reflection, Washington, DC, 2015.

27 thoughts on “Brainwashing and Done So Nicely

    • Thank you, they are quite definite, aren’t they? And I think I could go on and on, what with the wealth of material out there in the ad world, and I enjoy thinking how people may interpret or internalize the messages into something of hope, sad but true, I know I’ve fallen into myself…

      • Something my kids and I do when stuck in places like doctor’s offices is look through the magazines at the adverts and analyze what particular fear or anxiety the advertiser is tapping into, what aspiration or hope, and how it really all circles around selling people the concept of their self-worth being dependent on X, Y or Z. Your poems made me think of that.

    • You sound like my husband. Me, I’m indifferent to coffee. Maybe it’s the years I spent visiting customers and drinking their office coffee, in the days before Keurig and the like.

Leave a Reply

