An Idea That Wore Out Its Welcome Very Quickly

From Autumn Opens a Door, a collection published in 2015.

An Idea That Wore Out Its Welcome Very Quickly

I take a pencil
sharpen it to a good fine point
draw my face on the paper
and my goodness I think I’ve
gotten myself mixed up with someone else.
Let’s try
a pen with a nice thick point and full to bursting with
indelible ink.
The result is less than pleasing. I may have a nose like that
and I may not. Thick lines do not suit me.
Perhaps
watercolors. I paint in
a mouth
which promptly drips. I do not like to think of myself that way
It says
something about me that I hope
is not true.
I’d try carving out a block of wood
if I had any, but I don’t. Instead, how about pastels?
Sadly, they make me sneeze. I am not a dusty old lady
yet.
I could get out the crayons. I have a fancy set
in the drawer. No. I find
I’ve lost interest in
self-examination
instead I go off to the kitchen
to cut up an onion. For dinner. I need it for the stew.

Clay tile, 6" x 6", 2016.

Clay tile, 6″ x 6″, 2016.

4 thoughts on “An Idea That Wore Out Its Welcome Very Quickly

Leave a Reply

