Almost Parallel

From Autumn Opens a Door, a collection published in 2015.

Almost Parallel

In the middle of the night
the truck drove by my bedroom window.
Woke me up. Big heavy truck. In the dark
I see a dump truck. I see the driver bounce in his seat
as the truck goes over that uneven patch in the road out front
driving fast, in a hurry. I see the
dashboard light shining on the driver’s face
I see a big cup of coffee in the holder. It’s night and
people need coffee to keep awake although I’d think driving a
great big metal jangle racket truck would do that for you
pretty good. I see the light change at the top of the hill
and the truck rattle off down the highway.
I see none of this and yet
I see it all.
I go back to sleeping and the truck goes on
to wherever it is going
Our short association done and over.

Clay tile - truck on a bridge, 2014.

Clay tile – truck on a bridge, 2014.

12 thoughts on “Almost Parallel

  1. Thank you. I have always liked being in bed at night, hearing the outside life going on, and thinking of what it looks like, imagining the truck, let’s say, on the road to St. Louis, headlights in the night…

  2. I have an opposite situation – one of my neighbors comes home from work just at bedtime and I hear him honk the horn when he locks the car – I know I need to turn off my light and sleep!

Leave a Reply

