Almost Like a Ghost

First published in 2015 in the collection Autumn Opens a Door.

Almost Like a Ghost

My car
sits alone in the parking lot
dozens and dozens of spaces surrounding it. The sun
is not up yet. In the whole shopping center
the restaurant’s windows
are the only ones lighted.
I slip in the door. There are no customers. I am the first one.
I surprise the cashier
who is bending down behind the counter
cleaning. The chairs and tables
wait in silence for me to choose
my seat. I eat
and I am gone
before another person passes through the door.

Open passageway door, Allentown, PA, November, 2013.

Open passageway door, Allentown, PA, November, 2013.

2 thoughts on “Almost Like a Ghost

Leave a Reply

