Ability to See

Published in Autumn Opens a Door, 2015.

Ability to See

The one-eyed cat waits at my side. He
is not worried about the time. He sits
and he is patient. He does not
want to go anywhere else. He does not
want to do anything else. He wants to sit
at my feet and purr. I am
so busy that I can’t think straight. I have
a lot of important thoughts. I must
write them down. Time is passing. I need
to be working. I am missing
something significant. I look
at the one-eyed cat. He is seeing
a lot more than I am. I move
my chair away from the desk to give him room. He
jumps into my lap.

Our one-eyed cat, Martok, in 2011.

Our one-eyed cat, Martok, in 2011.

16 thoughts on “Ability to See

    • I wrote this because of our cat, who is exactly like the cat here. He is a bright spot in my life even more so because of what he has gone through in his life. Cheers me up just to see him come into the room. Helps me remember where I am.

Leave a Reply

