Every Day in the Summer

From the collection Catch Up With Summer, 2015.

Every Day In the Summer

Hurry up
Our feet in their flip-flops
are doing their best as we rush
down the hot sidewalk to the pool gate
sun lotion towels beach bags in hand
Get that towel off the ground it’s dragging in the dirt
and I hoist it over my shoulder.
We go inside the gate and find some chairs
and strip off our cover-ups running to the water
fast
In we go and the water is cool and clear
the sunlight piercing through it
We sink ourselves and sit on the bottom
hair floating up and silvery bubbles rising
as we giggle
silently

Postcard, 2016.

Postcard, 2016.

12 thoughts on “Every Day in the Summer

  1. Thank you. I spent my childhood swimming in the summer (and year around, I was a competition swimmer, but that only in summer did I also do leisure swimming) and I think those memories are some of the sharpest ones I have, being at the pool, the sun, the smell of the hamburgers frying in the concession stand, the chlorine…I could go on and on.

  2. Thank you. I hope to create a happy world with happy people or at least people on the way to getting there. This swimming person is like me, she likes the water and the feeling of being suspended in another kind of magical world. Sometimes I think I might have been a fish in another life.

Leave a Reply

