Dry Cleaning Is Not An Option I Am Considering

From the collection Catch Up With Summer, published summer 2015.

Dry Cleaning Is Not An Option I Am Considering

You walk around under that cloud of anger
large enough that
there’s always plenty to cover me
when you get close and so I’ve learned
to get out my umbrella smile and
just flash it around
but it’s not enough. I still get wet.
There’s a cost to me
and that cost is counted
in how many outfits I’ve ruined standing in the rain
under your cloud.
I’m thinking about a move to drip-dry
or out of town
I haven’t yet decided.

Mixed media - man, umbrella, and tightrope, 6" x 6"

Mixed media – man, umbrella, and tightrope, 6″ x 6″

8 thoughts on “Dry Cleaning Is Not An Option I Am Considering

  1. Thank you. You made my day. I try so hard to keep a smile on my face and yet I find the emotions of others so infectious, and it can be hard to repel mean, ugly, or sad thoughts, or chronic complaining.

  2. Yes, I feel that talking with some people, maybe many people, is like being out in unfriendly weather. I pick up others’ emotions very easily and so I need a raincoat or umbrella. A lot!

Leave a Reply

