Chafe

From Catch Up With Summer, published summer 2015.

Chafe

I see the commuters gathered at the train station
strung along the platform
like beads on a necklace hoping for the knots between them
to make enough distance
for comfort
because it’s hot and humid this morning
and no one wants to think of being in a crowd
where people are red-faced and sweating
and yet they are
here on the platform
tight together
like beads on a necklace.

Small clay figurines, after their first firing.

Small clay figurines, after their first firing.

25 thoughts on “Chafe

  1. I love the potent meaning of the knots between them. As someone who dislikes physical contact with anyone I don’t know well and especially strangers, commuting always made my anxiety levels spike for just this reason. I needed big knots between us. Alas, the London Underground led me to have my face in people’s armpits enough for one lifetime.

    I love that little gang of clay people. They look wonderful as a tribe.

    • Thanks. I also need “knots” as well. I hate crowds. Commuting got me more used to it, but never will I feel comfortable unless I get space around me. I would not be good as a bead on a necklace.

      The little clay guys, I have made literally hundreds of them. Each one emerges with his own personality. I don’t know how that happens but I love it.

  2. I agree those figures look peeved. 🙂

    I love these lines:
    “I see the commuters gathered at the train station
    strung along the platform
    like beads on a necklace hoping for the knots between them”

Leave a Reply

