An Insurrection Unnoticed Is of Limited Efficacy

From Catch Up With Summer, a collection published in summer 2015.

An Insurrection Unnoticed Is of Limited Efficacy

I said:
From now on we eat dinner with no place mats
I interrupt boring stories as soon as I get tired of them
and I cook whatever I like whether you’ll enjoy it or not.
You said:
I think the neighbors have bought a new car.

"All He Said", mixed media. The caption reads: "All he said was, What? So I said to him, I'll tell you what. It's payback time, that's what."

“All He Said”, mixed media. The caption reads:
“All he said was, What? So I said to him, I’ll tell you what. It’s payback time, that’s what.”

16 thoughts on “An Insurrection Unnoticed Is of Limited Efficacy

  1. Love, love, love this–the collage, the poem, and the title!
    The figures in black and white (newspaper) against the pinkish tones are wonderful. I’ve named them Sadie and Natan–after cousins my mom’s cousin used to imitate. 🙂

    The poem has my mind going off in so many directions, too.

  2. I made this collage for a benefit at a local art center some time ago. I had the phrase in my mind and went from there. And so when I looked at this poem, this collage came to mind. Funny how the mind goes around the same things again and again!

  3. The collage makes me think of late 70s / early 80s punk. The poem made me smile. It reminded me of the time I stated a domestic strike and my husband and kids didn’t even notice.

  4. Yes. I think we have all been there. Not just at home, but work, volunteer committee, you name it. The next step is to escalate things a little. I may need to write more of this story…

  5. My verbal skills are way behind my written skills, so what I’m thinking always comes out a garbled mess. I’ve learned I’m better off not even attempting it. But I do continue to play those lines in my head. Perhaps I need a teleprompter…

Leave a Reply

