A Casual Observer Collides With The Boy Scouts 

From my poetry collection Catch Up With Summer, 2015.

A Casual Observer Collides With The Boy Scouts

I.
The Boy Scouts mill around the camp area
their voices a frenzied muddle
spiraling up.
I imagine the boys are overexcited already
at only nine o’clock in the morning.
Imagine how it will be this afternoon.

II.
The boys have set up the archery targets by the lodge and
roped off the section around it. I doubt this precaution
will be of any use
I resolve to stay away
from the lodge for as long as it takes.

III.
One kid
seems he is trying to set up an obstacle course
reeling out a plastic tape bossing the other boys
His hectoring says they are incompetent
and they certainly are
but that’s not getting the tape put up, is it?
Camp counselors, make a note:
improve interpersonal skills for better teamwork.

IV.
As I walk toward the lodge I see a big bag of ice
leaning against the wall
melting. It’s hours until lunch and
that ice will be lukewarm water in a puddle
by then. Someone should do something.

V.
Shouts in the background. I think
everyone is lining up for target practice
so I decide to
leave
steering clear of the archery range
of course

High School club picnic, 2003

High School club picnic, 2003

15 thoughts on “A Casual Observer Collides With The Boy Scouts 

  1. Thank you. The Scouts come to the park where I run every summer and I love watching them. As a former swim team coach I can’t help thinking how to manage the crowd, and what I would say!

  2. Thank you. The Scouts come to the park where I run every summer for a day camp and it is just the mother lode of human behavior, junior version. I have decided that I want to try archery myself based on their example, though I hope I can do better.

Leave a Reply

