A Shout-Out to…

…Marcy Erb at Illustrated Poetry. I had the pleasure of meeting her in person yesterday in Washington, DC. I took the train there and met her at the station. We had a beautiful sunny day and took advantage of it by walking around the Capitol and the Mall area.

Capitol small 6-16

Then we met my son, who lives in DC, for lunch. And after that, we made a stop at the Folger Shakespeare Library, where we met up with an informative and friendly tour guide who showed us a First Folio on display and discussed it with us. As an English major in college, I am sorry to say I had not realized that if Shakespeare’s plays had not been collected in this form, there are many works we revere that we would have never known existed. It said something to me about today’s world: how important blogs are in capturing words and thoughts of people and preserving their voices.

Well, not too much later, I had to leave to catch my train home, but I persuaded Marcy to stay and finish looking around. Shakespeare beats out standing in line with a friend for a train anytime, I think.

Marcy gave me something besides the gift of her presence that I’ll really treasure – the original illustration she did for a poem of mine she featured on her blog. Look here to see what I’m talking about. I will have it framed and display it happily to remember this occasion. Thank you, Marcy, for everything.

And I’ll take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone who communicates with me through the blog world. What a difference you have made in my life. Thank you.

 

 

16 thoughts on “A Shout-Out to…

  1. Thank you so much for the shout-out, Claudia! It was so much fun meeting up in person – thank you thank you for taking the time to come down to DC while I was there! I think it was very telling that the docent at the Folger Library was flabbergasted that we’d only met in person that same day – “I thought you were old friends!” – we are! But it would have been too long a story of poetry, art, and inspiration to tell her before you had to leave for your train… 😀

  2. I know, I’ve been thinking about that statement too, and how the definition of friendship and being old friends was true, just not how she thought! I’ll write you an email soon, with more to say, plus we forgot to finalize our book project! Too much to say and do!

Leave a Reply

