Snippet #10 from January, 2016

Snippet 1-23-16 #10 small

29 thoughts on “Snippet #10 from January, 2016

  1. Yes! Love the light and wonderful colors in this one, Claudia. Is that Cad Orange on the right, the one in the background poking its head through? Looks a bit like egg yolk. Wonderful color! Great texture too.

  2. Thank you. I am fine. I’ve noticed your absence and hope you are putting one foot in front of the other and keeping on going. See you when you get back to us.

  3. You have a good eye for color! Yes, it is, I use paints right out of the tube and so I don’t mix them, they are what they are, and mix on the paper. This one is Cad Orange hue, from Liquitex. My favorite so far for this color, I mean the brand.

  4. Thanks for that tip; I needed a zinger like this. I will get the Liquitex brand. I hope to catch up on your blog after tax season, Claudia. I’m so far behind. Just trying to place a quick Blick order and saw this beautiful painting in my reader!

  5. That’s the one I chose! I only have a few of their soft body paints and their Liquitex Basics set. I love the range of colors in that set, but they don’t have the strength of the Golden colors. My guess is this Cad Orange in their artist line will be wonderful. Thank you so much!

  6. The only trouble with the portal of the dictionary would be lost time. When I was growing up, I used to love opening a page at random and trying to learn all the unfamiliar words. I used to encourage my students to do the same in their idle moments as a vocabulary building tool. But then I also once read the phone book.

  7. Reading books is always risky. If you open an unknown book, you don’t know what is inside. It is like going through a door into a playe you don’t know. 🙂

  8. I used the Basic for a long time until I finally decided my artwork was worth paying a little more and I found I got I lot more from the paint. I think also I’ve said I refused to allow myself to buy Golden until recently. I’m sorry I waited. I also really like Sennelier and Winsor and Newton, both Artist and Galeria levels.

  9. We all know how easy it is to fall into trouble when reading, or in a library, and a book full of words, well…I speak only somewhat tongue in cheek…

  10. Ha ha! Yes. We could have been. My family still laugh about me reading the phone book but I had read every book in the house and the library was closed. It’s not like I read it cover to cover to cover. I tried to find ordinary people with famous people’s names or all the components of breakfast like Mr Oates, Mr Bacon, that sort of thing. I used the street directory.

  11. Thanks, Claudia. I did just place a rather large order for a bunch of M Graham acrylics. I love their watercolors best of all I’ve tried. They’re highly pigmented and relatively inexpensive. The good news is since I ordered them from Blick, I can return them, even opened, for up to a year. Based on the reviews I’ve read, I fully expect them to be every bit as wonderful as the Goldens at roughly half the price. I’ll let you know what I find out. It’s basically a no-risk order from Blick! Satisfaction guaranteed. One of the many reasons I love them. Thanks again for your input. I’ll keep it in mind as I investigate and experiment.

  12. I resorted to the encyclopedia when the books ran low. So I could tell you all about a lot of really obscure things and I was great with the Jeopardy! show.

  13. Yes, I would like to know about the M Grahams, I have not tried them. In fact I think when I finish here, I will zip over to the Blick site and take a look! Thank you!

  14. You’re welcome! I can attest to their watercolor paint, for sure, but not sure if you’re interested in those. Based on the reviews for the acrylics on Blick, sounds like they carry their quality and value straight across their paint lines. And they are made in the USA.

Leave a Reply

