…and the final installment (for this group of books, anyway)

If you have followed my work for a while, you are familiar with the Poetry Marathon. The way I do it, anyway. I’ll remind you anyway – I spent a week, four times in 2015, once in each season, dedicating time to writing poetry, whatever came out of my head and onto the paper, fast as I could think. No reviewing or revising, just writing. I posted each day about my experiences.

Then I waited a week or so and went back to the group. Now came revision and review! But I tried to do as little as possible other than clarifying or tightening things up a little. I loved the freshness and the immediacy of what I had done. I felt that I had opened the door to something important in me and I didn’t want to spoil it with a lot of extra fluff and frou-frou.

I started this process with the idea of just doing one session, in January 2015. The idea came to me as an attempt to help me get through a difficult time. it certainly worked, so well that I decided to repeat it. So, I ended up with four books, each one representing where I was in a particular season in a particular year.

There’s plenty to read about Poetry Marathon-ing on this blog – just search under the term “Poetry Marathon –  and you can get a day by day chronicle of my experiences. So I’ll say no more about it.

Now I want to mention that the last book of this series, Autumn Opens a Door, is finished.

Autumn Opens a Door - Cover photo 12-15 small

It joins its fellows to make a set of four.

The books are available on Amazon. But, if you’d like a copy of one or more of these books, email me at claudiamcgillart@gmail.com or use the form below. The cost is $7 each, less than on Amazon, and the shipping is between $5 and $10 in the US, depending on how many you want, and somewhat more internationally (PayPal will help us out here with the money aspect). I will autograph them if you like, just tell me.

I haven’t put any poems from these books on the blog (except for the examples I posted at the end of each day of the Marathons). Maybe sometime later on I will. Anyway, everything in the books is new, never seen anywhere else!

Thank you, everyone, for all your support of my work. This particular project has been so meaningful to me and has reminded me how grateful for your readership I am.

15 thoughts on “…and the final installment (for this group of books, anyway)

  1. Hi Claudia, something is wrong with the order form. I wanted to submit an order, but once I press Submit, I get an error message: Oops! That page can’t be found.

  2. Okay, that means it is working although it produces an error message. After receiving the first error message, I tried to order again. I only wanted to order once (at least for now). 🙂

  3. You know, I just wanted something tangible for my work, and books made it that way (I am an avid reader and have worshipped reading all my life, and books!) I am happy with anything at this point!

Leave a Reply

