Salvage Rights

A Twenty Minutes poem. As a note, this poem celebrates (not on purpose, it just happened…) The Claudia McGill Museum of Things Claudia McGill Picks Up From the Street When She Is Just Going Along Being Claudia McGill and Doing Claudia McGill Things. Visit here if you want to see more…

 

Salvage Rights

A little shiny piece of metal
fallen off a car or a bike
or someone’s piece of machinery
they were hauling in a flatbed truck
that might make a difference
or might not
to the operation of the car bike machine
but the time for worrying about that is long past
because I don’t see any broken-down
anything
in this immediate vicinity
and so the little shiny piece of metal
is mine

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Museum collection from the Claudia McGill Museum, November, 2014.

10 thoughts on “Salvage Rights

  1. You have a fabulous collection, Claudia. I ride my bike most days for transport and sometimes I’m walking, so it’s perfect for picking up things. I have a constant supply of hair ties! Love your work 🙂

    • Thank you. I’ve always liked treasure hunting like this, since I was little. Maybe because I was so nearsighted. And now, I look at the ground even more because of my glasses and needing to pay attention to where I’m stepping even more. It’s turned out great for me! I think people miss a lot, not walking or bicycling, but being in cars and speeding by all of this.

    • You know, I think it’s the best thing about me that I can get excited about things like this – life is never boring as a result and interesting things and experiences abundant and cheap. I am grateful!

Leave a Reply

