Recommendation That Would Be Worth Listening To

A Twenty Minutes Poem.

Recommendation That Would Be Worth Listening To

No matter what you do
every time you knock on this door
things like this happen.
You step into the living room
and
you find yourself a murky little situation
sitting in the armchair
or
the basement door opens
a great big black space eyeing you
as if it would like to eat you.
You’d be better off
going to the next door down the sidewalk
or any other door on this
or any other street, for that matter.
Lose this address and forget it. Move
to the other side of town
and don’t come back here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Don’t Open the Basement Door” Acrylics, 2014

11 thoughts on “Recommendation That Would Be Worth Listening To

  1. See, that’s my problem, though. I never can decide on a plot that lives up to the intro (I find it happening in books I read too so I don’t feel bad). So, I stick with poetry, I can suggest but not answer. I think that may be my strength. Like painting! But, I say, if anyone gets a spark from this p0em, well, go to it and I’ll read your book.

  2. I found these lines especially imagination-sparking: “you find yourself a murky little situation/sitting in the armchair.”

Leave a Reply

