Problem

A Twenty Minutes poem.

Problem

My navy wool coat
calls for a red scarf
But I have two scarves
one orange
one yellow
already. Are these
the opening words
of a math problem
in a third grade text book?
Are the student
and a pencil ready to set numbers to paper
as soon as the question is posed? But
what equation
could this student derive
to answer my question
which is:
Do I want to buy a red scarf?

Scarves made for Chase the Chill, Easton, PA, 2012.

Scarves made for Chase the Chill, Easton, PA, 2012.

19 thoughts on “Problem

  1. Yes to the scarf. As I sometimes tell my sixth-grader, I can tell you the answer even if I can’t figure out how to make the equation. 🙂

  2. I think the red gloves poem lays serious groundwork for the argument in favor of buying a red scarf. I things matchy-matchy as a friend of mine says. I am currently knitting myself a red scarf even though I have purple gloves. I believe everything goes with purple.

    • Yes, a matching set is nice. I am not kind with them, though, as I lose things a lot and then there are orphans, so I have adopted the idea of making a virtue of necessity and so I am very colorful. I personally love purple and red together. I am also a big fan of purple, although I tend to the periwinkle/ blue end of it rather than the red.

Leave a Reply

