Autumn 2015 Poetry Marathon, Day 3

This morning I went to Arcadia University, to the library there. I’ve used this location several times; I believe I’ve been here during each Marathon. It’s very close to home – I walked, though it’s a stormy rainy day. Very nice to be out in such dramatic circumstances.

Usually I do the Marathon sessions in the afternoon, but today I felt like morning would suit me better. I set myself up in the Periodicals room. It’s a favorite place, with its large windows and view of a little Peace Garden.

The library was busy, with the students there. The good kind of busy, with a nice hum of subdued background noise – people talking, the copy machine working away, the phone ringing every so often. I felt quite at peace and I got right to work pretty easily.

Today is a meaningful day for me for another reason – one year ago today, I had my first eye surgery to repair my torn retina. In the intervening months I have recovered from that procedure and two cataract surgeries, the cataract being an anticipated complication of my first surgery. I have new glasses and new eyesight now. So today I am reflecting on the importance of time and healing, and gratitude for the restoration of my eyesight.

Here’s today’s work:

22 poems

1723 words

And here is today’s chosen poem. Just as it came out of my mind…

14.

A year ago
my eye was frightened and damaged
and undergoing repair
this very day
a year ago. My eye
could not see and it had
happened so quickly
there had been no time to adjust
to not seeing and the fear
of never seeing. One year ago
help was offered and my eye was brave
enough to take it. Now
one year later
today
my eye is repaired
functioning well
a small distortion in the middle of vision its battle scar
healed.

6 thoughts on “Autumn 2015 Poetry Marathon, Day 3

  1. This is a beautifully crafted poem and it gave me some insight into what you went through emotionally as well as physically. I appreciated that as my mother-in-law went through the same thing, twice, a few years ago.

  2. Thank you. Having your eyes at risk is very frightening since we depend on them so much and – there is the ick factor of the idea of having something stuck into your eye, even if to fix it (I no longer feel this way after the surgery but before I could barely think about what was going to be done). I am fortunate to have had good medical care and very grateful for my sight. And your poor mother in law, twice, ugh!. Not a nice experience!

  3. What a nice poem Claudia! And What a scary situation you went through, thankfully with happy end!
    That library window is very inspiring and if the trees can be seen from there,is just the perfect place to stay!

Leave a Reply

