Autumn Poetry Marathon

Everyone, time is passing. It’s already time for the Autumn Poetry Marathon, the fourth installment of my Marathon year of poetry. As in the past, I will spend two hours, more or less, writing poetry as fast as it comes out of my head, no editing, no rethinking. Just getting it down on paper is the object.

I plan to do this work in different locations, also as I’ve done in the past. I’ve been to quite a few libraries and cafes and even the grocery store eating area to work in and I’m going to try some new locations this session.

Once I’ve finished the Marathon, the next step is editing the poems and producing the book of poems that finally emerge from the  process. It will join the three earlier ones I’ve done, Look Winter in the Face, Spring Cleaning, and Catch Up With Summer. (I’ll put in a little commercial right here and say that they are available on Amazon.com or I can send you a copy of whatever one you’d like.)

The Marathon idea started as just a simple way to fight back against the cold and dreariness of winter, and has been a big part of my recovery from my various illnesses of the last three years. I am happy to say I have come a long way on this road and I appreciate so much everyone who has supported my writing.

I don’t know what the future holds for my poetry writing – I mean, I will keep on writing, but I’m not sure I want to turn Marathon-ing into a permanent scheduled feature as I did this year. But, I really love the concentrated focus on writing that comes with an official declaration of setting aside time to do it. I guess I will be doing some kind of Marathon(s) again, I’m just not sure how, but I am sure an idea will come to me.

For right now, I will focus on next week’s work. Each day I’ll do a summary post of the day’s session and include one poem from the day’s work.

Thanks for reading. If you’re interested in looking over the posts from earlier Marathons, just search this blog using  the term “Poetry Marathon” and the posts will all come up.

3 thoughts on “Autumn Poetry Marathon

  1. I adore the idea of four seasonal marathons that form a whole, the execution, your manner and locations of writing, and all that would already be plenty, but most of all I love the outcome. You are one tight package of a poet.

Leave a Reply

