Not a Scrap

A Twenty Minutes poem.

Not a Scrap

The conversation is over
but the words
are still pouring over the barriers
inside my head
assembling themselves quick hard and rough
into meaning
They do their damage as they go
they are cold-eyed
they infiltrate
they wait
they are patient.
But I am more than that and
I call up my own forces and
I shout out. You did not expect resistance
but you will get it.
The conversation is not over.

Utensil Girls in conversation - mixed media figures made of ceramics, knitting, wooden spoons, wire.

Utensil Girls in conversation – mixed media figures made of ceramics, knitting, wooden spoons, wire.

16 thoughts on “Not a Scrap

    • Thank you, I collected these wooden things from the thrift store some years ago and then over time figured out what to do with them. All of them sold or given away, some time ago, I just remembered this picture for the poem.

  1. I have those running conversations in my head all the time…though I tend not to actually say what I want to say in the end.
    Perhaps I just need a little wood and wire…(K)

Leave a Reply

