I Haven’t Survived This Long

A Twenty Minutes poem.

I Haven’t Survived This Long

That the man
clearly worn down by Tuesday
has the energy
after whatever kind of rest
he extracted from Tuesday night
to recognize the affront
of Wednesday morning
miserable gray and dark
outside his bedroom window
and give it a defiant glare
is a good sign
that’s there still some fight left in him
and I know it wasn’t directed at me
but
As he turns away from the glass
I move down the sidewalk
away from where I was standing
directly opposite his door
I know he can’t get out here as quick as that
but I don’t feel like taking any chances
this morning.

“Old Man, Old City, New Day” – mixed media

2 thoughts on “I Haven’t Survived This Long

Leave a Reply

