Haven

A Twenty Minutes poem.

Haven

I must admit
it’s very hard
that when I see a notebook
any size
lined unlined
sketch
college-ruled
soft cover
spiral
tape-bound
memo-size
plain navy blue
black marble
pink and green stripes meant for a child
for me to say no to its delightful emptiness
and so my hand reaches out
to put it into my shopping cart
and I imagine what pen I’ll use
to write in it
I am filled with such content
at the idea of opening the cover
and disappearing inside

A reporter's notebook, collage art on the cover. I made several for my son's friends on the Collegian (PSU) newspaper, and some more some time later that were in a silent auction to benefit the paper.

A reporter’s notebook, collage art on the cover. I made several for my son’s friends on the Collegian (PSU) newspaper, and some more some time later that were in a silent auction to benefit the paper.

9 thoughts on “Haven

  1. My niece just showed me the notebook she bought that has a panda bear with a fuzzy tummy on the cover. She bought 3 from the series for her college note taking needs. We are definitely related (btw – she is going to art school and I think we can expect wonderful things from her.)

Leave a Reply

