Day 3 – Spring Poetry Marathon

Beautiful Sky 4-29-15 small

For today’s Marathon session, I wanted to be outside because the weather was just marvelous – sunny and warm. I chose Mondauk Park in Fort Washington for my location. It’s a typical neighborhood park with ball fields, tot lot, beach volleyball, horseshoes, walking track, and so on. I set myself up at the central picnic pavilion area.

Since I was there in the afternoon, most of the other people around me were small children and their parents or caregivers. There was a lot to observe and I see that my environment really influenced my work – quite a few poems about kids, parents, etc. – which I don’t normally think much about since I don’t live in that young-child world anymore. Very interesting to me and a change of pace.

I took the opportunity to leave a few more books at the Little Free Library, too.

Here is the poem I chose from today’s session:

18.

The wind blowing across my knees
because I’m wearing shorts
first time this season.
Outside here in the sunshine
a little chilly, maybe, but
I cease to notice it
when
I trap a yellow jacket
as I cross my legs

2 thoughts on “Day 3 – Spring Poetry Marathon

Leave a Reply

