Decided

Decided

The plants on the porch wither
for lack of water
and being left outside too late in the fall
therefore coping with a tinge of frost
and so I say
I ought to take you inside
but I just don’t want
to bother with houseplants anymore
and yet I can’t
just throw you out
so I leave you here
to wither
My punishment
is to walk by you
every time I leave or enter the house
but I’m really not feeling
punished
but relieved

Clay tile. Lady watering a plant. 2013.

Clay tile.
Lady watering a plant.
2013.

Leave a Reply

