Congratulations to Me

Congratulations to Me

What a downpour
What a relief
that I’m not
in my car
stalled out on the flooded highway
Nor walking on the sidewalk
spirits falling as damp shoes turn sodden
socks wick up the water
soak my ankles
utter misery
of a small kind
but enough.
No, I’m safely in the house
looking out the window
and no need to go out
feeling quite pleased with myself
for having outsmarted the rain
Though all I’ve done
really
is not to go out in it

Roberts Block Building through the rain-streaked car windshield. Glenside, PA

Roberts Block Building through the rain-streaked car windshield.
Glenside, PA

Leave a Reply

