Best Behavior

Best Behavior

I listen to the man
the man I just met
at this party
given by a friend
who has a lot of friends
and we don’t all know each other
so this situation will arise
over and over
at this party.
I listen to the man
the man I just met
and it’s not long before
I cross him off the list
of people that I want to know
any better, or even at all
and I wonder
if my friend
whose party this is
thinks the same thing
but had to invite him
to return some past invitation
and I hope so
because then I can feel
I’m helping out my friend
rather than standing in the kitchen
at a nice party
enduring a monologue
courtesy of a man
I wish I hadn’t just met

"Party at the Pink House"  Mixed Media

“Party at the Pink House”
Mixed Media

Leave a Reply

