Claudia McGill Wrote Poetry, Did You Know That? and then Claudia McGill Published It In a Book!

You may remember my Poetry Marathon? Yes? No?

Well, in January 2015, as part of my fight to beat back winter, I decided to try something – I would devote two hours each weekday for a week just to writing poetry. My idea was just to write and not look back – keep on going no matter what.

Anyway, I ended up with a lot of poems. About one hundred of them, to be sure – some very short, some a bit longer. More than I had thought, but I wasn’t sorry. Far from it. I set myself to doing some editing and I got them in shape. Some had to be tossed out but most of them met my hopes. So I decided to put them together as a book. Thanks to self-publishing, I could do that, and I did.

The book is called Look Winter in the Face. If you are interested in reading it, it costs $12 and here’s the link:

Look Winter in the Face

 

Look Winter in the Face book cover with border small

 

As I went through whole sequence of poems, it seemed to me that they belonged together. It was almost as if they were chapters in my own story of winter. Now, they can certainly be read as individuals, one at a time, out of order. Enjoying one poem does not depend on reading the others. But I wanted to show them as what they became to me: an entity, a unified body, a coherent picture made of many pieces. It means something to me to have these poems on paper in a collection.

I enjoyed the whole process so much that I plan to do three more Marathons this year: April, July, and October. That way each season gets its turn and I will be able to travel through the year in poetry. I love the idea.

Thanks for reading. If you want to see more about the Poetry Marathon or what happened on any of the days, here are the links, and as a note, the posts pretty much follow each other in the blog, if you want to just run down the pages.


 Links relating to the Poetry Marathon:

Introduction to the Poetry Marathon

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Wrap up – Review of the experience

One thought on “Claudia McGill Wrote Poetry, Did You Know That? and then Claudia McGill Published It In a Book!

Leave a Reply

