How Others See Us…

Sitting on the sofa. It’s evening, and though it’s cold outside, it’s warm in here in this room.

Shelter

The cat curls next to me
his head on my lap
turned in such a confiding way
What have I done to inspire
such trust? such faith?
Nothing, as far as I know,
but I must be wrong
here’s the evidence right in front of me
that I am reliable dependable safe.
I like to think of myself the way the cat thinks of me.
Anyway
He sighs closes his eyes
arranges his front paws into a neatly crossed position
under his chin, settling himself a little more
Asleep in a snap of the fingers
Though of course I wouldn’t do that
What, and startle him? Certainly not
He wants to sleep
and I want him to feel he can sleep
curled against me
safe

Our cat Martok. The most affectionate cat ever, with a bright, happy spirit. You may notice he has only one eye - hence his name, that of a one-eyed Klingon general.

Our cat Martok. The most affectionate cat ever, with a bright, happy spirit. You may notice he has only one eye – hence his name, that of a one-eyed Klingon general.

2 thoughts on “How Others See Us…

  1. Thank you. We have two other cats who are not interested in being petted. They go their own ways. But this cat is just the most social being – he loves to be with a person and if possible, sitting on their lap…

Leave a Reply

