There Was That Day When This Happened

I go around town doing things, and things happen. Then I write about them. Nothing of great note to anyone but me, maybe, but then, I think we are all going around doing these things. Everyday life is fascinating, and we’ve all got a lot to work with on that topic.

Morning Vignette

The skinny black cat
the black car
the dark morning
the matte-black street that the cat ran to
ran back
just turned and ran
ran back
roving bad luck
The black car went on
that was me
after I left the post office
pulled the heavy glass door open
it rushing me out of there on the backswing
my feet barely holding the edge of the sidewalk
to get me by the lady in the black dress
talking into her phone
at great speed and intensity.
There was
something just too much about her
and her life-size-plus emotion
for not even nine o’clock Thursday morning
All I wanted
I want to be away from her
and she is standing on the sidewalk
eighty percent filling it
when she really only should get
fifty percent
never mind
the black car is a refuge after that
sanely quiet and room for my feet
safe
though not for the black cat
who saw it coming
had the sense to turn and run back
away from the black car
in the matte-black street
and causing no harm
as of yet
not even nine o’clock Thursday morning

"Raquel's View" Acrylics, 12" x 16" Our cat Raquel loved to sit in the 3rd floor window at our previous house - and look down and out at the world.

“Raquel’s View”
Acrylics, 12″ x 16″
Our cat Raquel loved to sit in the 3rd floor window at our previous house – and look down and out at the world.

4 thoughts on “There Was That Day When This Happened

  1. Thank you. You know, that day, everywhere I looked, “black” is the color that came to mind – not with bad connotations, necessarily – I just find that most days have a color they become and my surroundings do influence it as well as what I think, etc. I like black for its unashamed power to overwhelm.

Leave a Reply

