I Don’t Give Up

I wrote this some years ago. Reading it over, I think it says everything I wanted to say. So I will add no more to this introduction. Just read the poem.

Back Off

They backed me into a corner.
I kicked my way out.
(Notice the heel prints.)
They trapped me in the stairwell.
I knocked out some teeth.
(Not my own, either.)
They met me at the door.
I slammed it back at them.
(Brick-cracking hard.)
They ambushed me in the street.
I ran straight on at them.
(One ferocious head-butt.)
They called out my name.
I called them some names.
(Screeching loud, I was.)
They’re crammed full of determination
But I’ve got just that little bit more.
I predict it will all end in tears – but –
I tell you this –
I will be causing,
Not crying.

Girl with a black face and blue hood Acrylics, 4" x 4" 2013

Girl with a black face and blue hood
Acrylics, 4″ x 4″
2013

Leave a Reply

