But Did I Want to Know?

I wrote this poem some years ago. Reading it over, I realize that I do want to know the answers, but – I want to figure them out for myself.

The Answer Was Always There, You Say

You’ve analyzed me
and summed me up.
I am tiny and compact
and everything I’ve ever done
now makes sense.
I had no idea I was so sane,
so coherent, so rational,
that all this time I’ve been working out a pattern
so easy to grasp, so organized.
Suddenly the map appears
laid right over the land it explains.
It was kind of you to make the effort
to figure it all out.
I admire your industry
in this undertaking.
I do wonder why you took the time
and isn’t there something else
you could be doing?
Because I don’t recall
Asking.

Vignette Paper dolls arranged on the scanner. From a group made in August, 2014

Vignette
Paper dolls arranged on the scanner.
From a group made in August, 2014

3 thoughts on “But Did I Want to Know?

Leave a Reply

