Today I Am Thinking of Fall

Last winter was very hard for me and the memory has affected my view of the approaching cold-weather season. Though I've always liked autumn, it leads to winter, and…you see what I mean? I've been putting some work into this idea, but I just need to go through the seasons and build up new memories. That's what I think.

So, I'm making a special attempt to notice and enjoy autumn details and to continue that habit into and through the winter.

Here is a haiku from my walk today – there is a gradual change coming in nature and everything seems to know just what its place is in this process. I hope I will, too.


Hard gust, branches creak
Walnuts just jump from the trees
and skip down the road

I was in these woods at the park when I noticed all the walnuts in the trail.  This picture is from earlier this summer, but it's not much changed yet, except for the walnuts!

I was in these woods at the park when I noticed all the walnuts in the trail. This picture is from earlier this summer, but it’s not much changed yet, except for the walnuts!

One thought on “Today I Am Thinking of Fall

  1. Your mom told me about your eye and the surgery and enclosed a picture of you post-surgery in her e-mail. You look fantastic. I hope the healing is complete and your eye is back to its old self. I am really impressed with your haikus. First the art, now the poetry. Talk about talent. Until I moved to Chapel Hill, I too struggled with the fall. It’s breathtaking in New England. but we all knew what was coming and that took so much away from the season. I still have days of terrible longing for Salem (miss my house, the garden I spent so many years making, the hustle and bustle of my neighborhood, walking to just about everything, the stunning architecture around me, the Boston Globe, on and on not to mention Caroline and her three children–I was at the hospital when each was born) but fall has become a true season of joy here. I can appreciate its beauty–the colors as vibrant as New England, the same crisp blue days–without the dread of the approaching spoiling it. Honestly, I think this is my first real adjustment breakthrough. Feels so good.

Leave a Reply

